1 min read

End of an Era: MS Dhoni Passes CSK Captaincy Torch to Ruturaj Gaikwad

March 21, 2024
MS Dhoni

Cricket legend MS Dhoni has relinquished the Chennai Super Kings captaincy, handing over the reins to rising star Ruturaj Gaikwad ahead of the 2024 TATA IPL season. Dhoni leaves an extraordinary legacy as one of the most successful captains in IPL history, guiding CSK to five IPL titles (2010, 2011, 2018, 2021, and 2023). Under his leadership, CSK became synonymous with consistency, reaching the finals ten times and making it to the playoffs for 12 seasons.

Dhoni’s captaincy record is remarkable – he led CSK in 235 matches, winning 143 and losing 90, with two ending in No Result. His overall IPL captaincy record stands at 133 wins in 226 games. Beyond victories, Dhoni’s impact extends to the team’s identity – his calculated approach and ability to extract the best from his players became a hallmark of CSK.

Ruturaj Gaikwad, a vital cog for CSK since 2020, now inherits the mantle. His consistent performances, including 1797 runs in 52 matches with one hundred and 14 fifties, have established him as a key player. Gaikwad’s leadership experience as India’s T20I captain and his recent Asian Games gold medal highlight his potential to usher CSK into a new era.

Adv below

Yukesh Chaudhary

Yukesh Chaudhary is the CEO and Founder of Niriv, The parent company of The Ditible. He writes on sports news and trends, He has been writing sports news from 2021 and has been writing here.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.