1 min read

National Assembly Chair Election Set for Today

March 12, 2024
National Assembly Chair Election

The Chairmanship election for the National Assembly (NA) is slated to occur today, with the primary contenders being Narayan Dahal of the Maoist Center and Yuvraj Sharma from the Nepali Congress, both having officially registered their candidacies on Monday.

Narayan Dahal, supported by the CPN-UML, the largest party in the ruling coalition, as well as the Janata Samajwadi Party and the Unified Socialist Party, appears well-positioned with the backing of 39 MPs from this alliance, making it likely for him to secure a majority. Notably, a minimum of 29 votes is required to clinch the Chairmanship.

Initially, the Nepali Congress had put forward Krishna Sitaula for the position. However, due to shifts in the political landscape, Yuvraj Sharma was nominated in response to the changed dynamics within the coalition.

Ad below

The Maoist Center, initially considering Urmila Aryal or newly elected member Jhakku Subedi for the role, experienced a significant shift. The Nepali Congress’s insistence on the Chair’s role caused a rupture in the Maoist Center alliance, leading to their merger with the CPN-UML.

In a strategic move, Maoist Chairman and Prime Minister Pushpa Kamal Dahal ‘Prachanda,’ after securing the Speaker position for his party through an agreement with the UML, presented his cousin brother Narayan Dahal as the candidate.

The Federal Parliament Secretariat unveiled the final list of candidates on Monday, setting the stage for a crucial and closely watched election.

The Ditible For Latest Nepal news, sports news, politics, entertainment, Business, Money & Finance and tech news.
On Google News

Ditible Staff

The Ditible is a distinguished digital news media platform. All the breaking news and latest happenings! official Ditible staff profile.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.