2 mins read

Tirhut Tigers wins Saptari Premier League Title!

June 10, 2024
Tirhut Tigers wins

The Tirhut Tigers emerged victorious in the 6th edition of the Rajbiraj Mayor Cup Saptari Premier League! The thrilling final, held on Monday at Public Bindeshwari Ground in Rajbiraj, saw the Tigers defeat Chinnamasta Lions by a commanding 31 runs.

Ad below

Chinnamasta Lions, chasing a modest target of 92 runs, were restricted to a mere 60 runs in their allotted 14 overs. Their batting faltered with only Bishal Patel (14 runs), Mayan Yadav (13 runs), and Firdos Ansari (12* runs) managing double digits. Notably, four Chinnamasta batsmen, including Bhim Sarki, were dismissed without scoring.

Tirhut’s bowling attack, spearheaded by left-arm spinner Dipesh Kandel (4 wickets for 25 runs), proved too strong for the Lions. Captain Anil Yadav, named Player of the Match, chipped in with a crucial 3-wicket haul conceding just 15 runs in his 3 overs. Support came from Bashir Ahmed (2 wickets) and Abhishek Karki (1 wicket).

Earlier, batting first after winning the toss, Tirhut Tigers themselves were dismissed for 91 runs in 18.4 overs. Bhola Kumar Sah top-scored with a valiant 29 runs. Apart from Bashir Ahmed (18 runs) and Rupesh Singh (10 runs), the Tigers’ batting lineup struggled to find momentum.

Chinnamasta Lions’ bowling attack shared the spoils with Bishal Patel, Firdos Ansari, Gunanand Roy, and Sumit Newar each taking two wickets.

The victory earned Tirhut Tigers a celebratory sum of Rs 3 lakh, while the valiant Chinnamasta Lions received Rs 1 lakh 50 thousand as runners-up.

Beyond the final match, individual accolades were awarded. Tirhut Tigers’ Bashir Ahmed, who shone throughout the tournament, was declared the best player. His impressive performance included scoring 108 runs and claiming 10 wickets across the six matches.

The best bowler title went to Chinnamasta Lions’ Bishal Patel for his 15 wickets in seven matches. Kanchanrup, amassing a commendable 297 runs in seven matches, was crowned the best batsman. Finally, Mohammad Sohail Khan of Chinnamasta Lions, with 12 wickets in seven matches, received the Emerging Player award.

This exciting tournament concluded with Tirhut Tigers roaring with victory, and several talented players receiving well-deserved recognition for their outstanding performances.

Yukesh Chaudhary

Yukesh Chaudhary is the CEO and Founder of Niriv, The parent company of The Ditible. He writes on sports news and trends, He has been writing sports news from 2021 and has been writing here.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.