2 mins read

Kolkata Knight Riders Wins Third IPL Title with Dominant Victory over Hyderabad

May 27, 2024
Kolkata Knight Riders

The Kolkata Knight Riders emerged victorious in the Indian Premier League (IPL) 2024 final on Sunday night, securing their third championship title. They dominated the Sunrisers Hyderabad with a convincing eight-wicket win.

Chasing a meager target of 114 runs set by Hyderabad, Kolkata completed the chase with remarkable ease, reaching the target in just the 11th over. Opener Venkatesh Iyer was the star of the show, smashing an unbeaten half-century (52 runs) to lead Kolkata to victory. Rahmanullah Gurbaz provided valuable support with a knock of 39 runs. Hyderabad’s bowling attack, featuring captain Pat Cummins and Shahbaz Ahmed, could only manage a solitary wicket each.

Ad below

Earlier, Hyderabad, who elected to bat first, were bundled out for a paltry 113 runs in just 18.3 overs. Their batting lineup faltered against a potent Kolkata bowling attack. With 24 runs, Pat Cummins was the lone bright spark for Hyderabad. Aiden Markram (20 runs), Heinrich Klaasen (16 runs), and Nitish Kumar Reddy (13 runs) were the only other batsmen to reach double digits.

Kolkata’s bowling attack was a force to be reckoned with. Andre Russell spearheaded the attack with three wickets. Mitchell Starc and Harshit Rana played crucial roles, picking up two wickets each. The rest of the bowlers chipped in with vital contributions, with Vaibhav Arora, Sunil Narine, and Varun Chakravarthy taking one wicket apiece.

This victory marks a triumphant return to form for the Kolkata Knight Riders. Their previous titles came in 2012 and 2014. Meanwhile, Sunrisers Hyderabad, champions in 2016, continue their wait for their second IPL title, having previously fallen short in the finals in 2018.

Yukesh Chaudhary

Yukesh Chaudhary is the CEO and Founder of Niriv, The parent company of The Ditible. He writes on sports news and trends, He has been writing sports news from 2021 and has been writing here.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.